Downward facing dog

So, this blog needs posts. And I need to work some things through. I see a plan somewhere. Beware: Will most likely be rambly.

 

I gained weight over sometime between November and January, mostly around the belly area. This does not come as a shock. I can feel when I gain weight, without any sort of scales to tell me so, it’s just one of those things. Turns out I’ve gained 8lbs, thank you wii fit. Now, I’m a big believer in Health At Every Size, and Fat Acceptance. I try to spread the message to others, and often correct people’s opinions of fat, and fat people.

This weight gain does not make me feel insecure, I’m not chomping at the bit to loose the weight, to hide it. I’m not watching what I eat anymore than normal-see below. I’m not ashamed by it. But it does make me feel uncomfortable. As in, physically uncomfortable, like a non-painful lump or ulcer that is constantly on the edge of my conscious thought, Which makes me feel odd. My body will feel better now I’ve started to get back into my normal low-carb eating habits – I have insulin resistance, and watch what I eat to help with this, but it’s hard to do at other people’s houses.

But, I must admit it bothers me that I feel uncomfortable with this. Is it just a physical thing? Or is it a manifestation of a psychological anti-fat thing? I’m overweight normally, but this is the first significant weight gain I’ve really taken any notice of-I never did as a teen, for mainly reasons; I had far too much other crap going on in my life, and I knew I was growing. I had D cups before I hit 18-I knew I was throwing on the weight-believe me!

Where was I? Ah, yes. Is this physical uncomfortable-ness a manifestation of being uncomfortable with gaining weight at a mental level?

On a more uplifting note, I have started yoga (on the wii fit, I can’t afford to go to a class yet 😦 )but! It is well awesome, and the stretching makes me feel all lovely afterwards, even if I am a bit wobbly at the mo. I do 20 mins a day most days – just missed today’s due to a headache and stuffed up sinuses that appeared all ninja-like when I woke up this morning. With any luck I shall be a stretchy Spacemonkey soon 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Quercki
    Jan 15, 2010 @ 20:25:29

    Yoga is most assuredly wonderful. And 20 minutes most days qualifies as a home practice!

    Dealing with a similar weight gain, my big problem is that I don’t like shopping and haven’t as many clothes for this size.

    Reply

  2. Gem
    Jan 15, 2010 @ 21:15:20

    I’m slowly getting there with the yoga-I can feel my muscles slowly getting more flexible 🙂
    I feel your pain re: clothes shopping. I tend to go to thrift/charity shops as I tend to find decent fitting things that are more likely to fit my quirky style than mainstream shops-plus I can buy books too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

